Ok “How I Met Your Dad,” I’m Listening…

By Benji Glowinsky

howImetyourmother_2737831b

Well How I Met Your Dad producers, congratulations. I may just have to eat some of my words I previously had to say about your upcoming spinoff of How I Met Your Mother.

Back in November of 2013, I wrote an article of my initial reactions to the announcement of a How I Met Your Mother spinoff. At the time, it was presumed that the show, to be named How I Met Your Dad, would focus on the journey of Cristin Milioti’s character of “The Mother,” and how she came to meet Ted. At the time, I was furious.
If you’d like just a sample of my anger,

“While Cristin Milioti has been praise-worthy thus far, I by no means would like to see her star in a copy of the show I just forced myself to watch for far too long.”

Yup. I still stand by what I said, that a spinoff of How I Met Your Mother with that premise would be a train wreck. However, that is no longer the case. In the months since I wrote that article, it was announced that the spinoff would not be focused on Cristin Milioti’s character and how she wound up with Ted (THANK GOD), but rather a new character along with a different concept from the original series. As evident from the show’s title, the show will follow a female lead, and her name is Sally. However, unlike the beginning of HIMYM, it’s spinoff will be about a somewhat immature woman, who is already married, and essentially realizes her marriage is going to s**t and her life is a mess. Sally wants to split with her man, and looks to her friends and family for direction and advice. Even though eventually the show will go in a similar direction to that of it’s predecessor, that premise isn’t too shabby.

So now you’re thinking, “Okay, so they changed the premise. So what? I’m still not watching a stupid spinoff.”

Well, I have some news for you that definitely changed my perspective of How I Met Your Dad. The show also announced that the main character, Sally, would be played by Golden Globe-nominated actress Greta Gerwig. Now, Gerwig is no household name by any means, but she is a damn good actress. If you haven’t seen the movie for which she was nominated for a Globe, Frances Ha, I would highly suggest watching it to get an idea of why I believe she is such a great talent. If Greta Gerwig can do what I believe she is capable of, which is bring an amazing charisma and likeability to the screen, she could be a major piece in saving the HIMYM spinoff from detriment.

Greta Gerwig in Frances Ha.

Greta Gerwig in Frances Ha.

This is more of a follow-up to my last article, which tore apart the HIMYD concept. I think that with the decisions of casting Greta Gerwig, and revamping the premise into something a little more fresh, and more capable of telling a fully developed story throughout the series run (something HIMYM was unable to do: cut to montage of bad episodes from season 7-9), How I Met Your Dad is at least trying to move in the right direction for the show. I’m not saying I’ve taken a complete-180 on my feelings for HIMYD, but if the producers continue to make good decisions which seem to right the wrongs of the series predecessor, it’ll be hard to turn my back to watching an episode of How I Met Your Dad.

Leave a Reply

