A (Quite Extensive) Rundown of This Year’s Golden Globe Awards

by Benji Glowinsky

Image

The B-Glow show is back with another article, and it’s a biggie

Last week, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association released the nominees for this year’s Golden Globe Awards. This has been, in my opinion, one of the best years in film over the past decade, so I am counting down the days until the Golden Globe Awards. Pardon my quick spiel/plug as to why I would rather watch the Globes than the Oscars this year, using last year’s awards as an example.

Why I’m More Excited for the Globes than the Oscars

While many people find the Academy Awards to be a better ceremony, I for one think the Golden Globe Award ceremony is superior, and this year am anticipating it far more than the Oscars.

One of the main factors leading up to any award show is the hosts. Last year, the Academy Awards gave the position to Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane, and to be completely honest, he was subpar. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some Peter Griffin in the morning, but MacFarlane missed the mark from my standpoint. The Golden Globes went a different route and gave former Saturday Night Live cast mates and good friends Amy Poehler and Tina Fey the shared hosting duties. They were stellar, they were hilarious, and they were invited back to host this year because of all that. This year the Oscars are bringing in Ellen DeGeneres, who has hosted before. Ellen’s good, but I’d rather see Amy and Tina. They’re more relevant, and are double the funny.

Another similar factor is the presenters. From last year’s Academy Awards, I have a sour taste in my mouth for one of the only presenters I remember. For some reason, Michelle Obama presented the award for Best Picture. WHY? WHAT in the WORLD does Michelle Obama know about the film industry?!? Not only that, but she presented the top award of the night, and she wasn’t even there in person. She announced the nominees via satellite. The only other presenter I remember was Mark Wahlberg and the robotic Teddy Bear from the movie Ted presenting, which was OK, I guess. In contrast, The Golden Globes also took the opportunity to have a political figure up on stage. Bill Clinton introduced the movie Lincoln in person, which is much more understanding than Michelle Obama presenting Best Picture. Not to mention Clinton had a couple one-liners whereas Mrs. Obama has about as much personality as a paper cup. The non-political presenter that I remember from the Globes is the extremely funny presentation of Best Actress in a Comedy or Musical by Kristen Wiig and Will Ferrell. This presentation went viral, and I must’ve watched it at least five times. If you remember it, then I’m sure as you’re reading this you can faintly hear in the back of your head, an angry Kristen Wiig and Will Ferrell saying, “You, GET OUT OF HERE.”

Image

Bill Clinton shows up to the Golden Globes in person

Another big reason I enjoy the Globes more than the Oscars has to be that I love the categories at he Globes. At the Globes, work in Film is awarded as well as work in Television. I appreciate the rewarding of great accomplishments in Television coupled with the awards for Film because I myself am a [self-proclaimed] TV show nut, and love seeing my favorite shows and movies being honored simultaneously. Now, don’t start yelling at me yet. I do realize that the Academy Awards are much more in depth with what they award, in terms of recognition in editing in movies, cinematography, etc. and love seeing behind the scenes people get their dues. However, from a casual viewer’s perspective, people watch the Oscars in order to see the big category winners (Best Picture, Best Actor/Actress, Supporting Actor/Actress, etc.) and people watch the Emmy’s to see the same. Casual moviegoers and casual viewers of the Oscars generally don’t care who wins the behind-the-scenes categories, which is why The Golden Globes is perfect for casual viewing. It only awards those widely recognized categories, and keeps viewers squeezing their sheet of picks to win, and on the edge of their seats. To finish, it wouldn’t be a “diss” of last year’s Oscars if I didn’t mention that Ben Affleck and Katheryn Bigelow were both snubbed by the Academy for Best Director. ‘Nuff said.

Ok, spiel over, feel free to leave your counter-arguments and opinions in the comments. On to the nominees, along with my tips to win, and my “dark horse” (meaning: who could sneak in and take down the favorite) picks:

 

The Nominees:

Film

Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 4.26.22 AM

12 Years a Slave and American Hustle picked up seven nominations each

Best Picture – Drama

  • 12 Years a Slave
  • Captain Phillips
  • Gravity
  • Philomena
  • Rush

Comments: It’s going to be a grudge match between 12 Years a Slave and Gravity on this one. With those two being so close in contention, I have to go with the general favorite, 12 Years a Slave, and make that my tip to win. Don’t count out the other three films, though. At the Toronto International Film Festival, 12 Years a Slave took home the top prize, with Philomena finishing in second, so don’t count out my dark horse pick, Philomena. Then again it will almost certainly be 12 Years a Slave or Gravity.

 

Best Picture – Musical or Comedy

  • American Hustle
  • Her
  • Inside Llewyn Davis
  • Nebraska
  • The Wolf of Wall Street

Comments: For the Comedy or Musical Best Picture Award (funny how none of these films are necessarily “Comedies” or “Musicals”), there is no clear winner. With American Hustle picking up so many nominations and getting huge buzz leading up to it’s theatrical release, I’m going to take it as my tip to win. However, my dark horse pick, or any other movie in this category, has a legitimate shot to take the cake. For my dark horse pick, I will go with another movie getting huge buzz, and a movie I predicted would get major awards buzz back in September, Nebraska.

 

Best Performance by an Actor – Drama

  • Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
  • Idris Elba, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
  • Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
  • Tom Hanks, Captain Phillips
  • Robert Redford, All Is Lost

Comments: I really want Matthew McConaughey to win this category. Sadly, I don’t think he will. I also must say, I’m pretty surprised Idris Elba squeaked in here over Forrest Whitaker (The Butler), so good on him. Chiwetel Ejiofor is my tip to win, but don’t sleep on my dark horse, Robert Redford, who has already collected eight nominations for his performance in All Is Lost.

 

Best Performance by an Actor – Comedy or Musical

  • Bruce Dern, Nebraska
  • Christian Bale, American Hustle
  • Joaquin Phoenix, Her
  • Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
  • Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis

Comments: I’m very excited to see Nebraska kick some butt in this category with my tip to win, Bruce Dern. Leo DiCaprio could be the wild card in this category, and I’ll give him my dark horse pick, but I think Bruce Dern will walk away with this one.

 

Best Performance by an Actress – Drama

  • Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
  • Emma Thompson, Saving Mr. Banks
  • Judi Dench, Philomena
  • Kate Winslet, Labor Day
  • Sandra Bullock, Gravity

Comments: I have a strong hunch that Cate Blanchett will take this one. I think Sandra Bullock has a decent shot, and Blue Jasmine being released earlier than Gravity plays into that a little, but I gotta go with Blachett as my tip to win. Bullock gets the dark horse.

 

Best Performance by an Actress – Comedy or Musical

  • Amy Adams, American Hustle
  • Greta Gerwig, Frances Ha
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Enough Said
  • Julie Delpy, Before Midnight
  • Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Comments: I mean… it’s gotta be either Amy Adams or Meryl Streep… right? Meryl to win, Adams as the dark horse to potentially overthrow the queen. [Side Note: Good for Greta Gerwig for picking up a nom. Her performance in Frances Ha was great.]

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
  • Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
  • Daniel Brühl, Rush
  • Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
  • Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

Comments: From my perspective, as a whole, this category will be very competitive over the course of the awards season. I wasn’t a huge fan of Abdi’s performance in Captain Phillips, so I’m a bit surprised he picked up a nomination over the like of Jonah Hill (The Wolf of Wall Street) and Tom Hanks (Saving Mr. Banks), but I guess the HFPA saw something I didn’t. My tip to win is Jared Leto, and I really hop he does win, but never forget those dark horses. I’ll put Michael Fassbender as my dark horse pick, despite my hesitance to give it to him over Daniel Brühl.

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
  • Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
  • June Squibb, Nebraska
  • Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
  • Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine

Comments: Folks, ladies and gents, line up and get your tickets for this evenings match-up, Jennifer Lawrence vs. Lupita Nyong’o. Yep, it’ll be a battle to the death between those two for this category, and I really don’t know who’ll take it, but I think Nyong’o may have a bit more appeal to the voters (who might be hesitant to award J-Law back to back wins), so I’ll put Lupita Nyong’o as my tip to win, with a not-so-dark horse choice of Jennifer Lawrence to possibly pull the rug from under Nyong’o.

 

Best Director

  • Alexander Payne, Nebraska
  • Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity
  • David O. Russell, American Hustle
  • Paul Greengrass, Captain Phillips
  • Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

Comments: The motto of this category is, “anything can happen.” While I consider Cuarón and McQueen the frontrunners, every single nominee in this category is a viable option to win. Alexander Payne is a personal favorite director of mine, and I’d love to see him win, and O. Russel has a great shot with Hustle building off of the hype, and the success of his last movie Silver Linings Playbook. Cuarón is my cautious tip to win, with McQueen as the dark horse.

 

Best Screenplay

  • Bob Nelson, Nebraska
  • Eric Singer and David O. Russell, American Hustle
  • Jeff Pope and Steve Coogan, Philomena
  • John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave
  • Spike Jonze, Her

 Comments: You should have seen the look on my face when I found out The Wolf of Wall Street was snubbed in this category. Utter shock. 12 Years a Slave to win, with Nebraska as the dark horse.

 

Best Original Score

  • 12 Years a Slave
  • All Is Lost
  • The Book Thief
  • Gravity
  • Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

Comments: I feel very strongly about wanting Gravity to take this category, and in feeling that way, am getting behind Gravity as my tip to win this category. The score for that movie was absolutely spectacular, and it deserves the proper recognition. As always, someone could take it away from Gravity, and who else besides 12 Years a Slave to potentially do it.

 

Best Original Song

  • “Atlas,” Catching Fire
  • “Let It Go,” Frozen
  • “Ordinary Love,” Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
  • “Please, Mr. Kennedy,” Inside Llewyn Davis
  • “Sweeter Than Fiction,” One Chance

 Comments: Frozen should pretty much have this one on lock-down, but I’ll give my dark horse pick to Inside Llewyn Davis.

 

Best Animated Film

  • The Croods
  • Despicable Me 2
  • Frozen

 Comments: No need for a dark horse here. Frozen should easily take this category by storm.

 

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Blue is the Warmest Color
  • The Great Beauty
  • The Hunt
  • The Past
  • The Wind Rises

Comments: I have to confess, I know absolutely nothing about this category. The only one of these I have any knowledge of is Blue is the Warmest Color, so I guess I’ll pick it to win. Random dark horse selection: The Hunt.
UPDATE: I just realized (7 odd hours after this was posted) that I actually do know the movie The Wind Rises. It is an animated movie directed by the amazing Hayao Miyazaki, who directed amazing films such as Spirited Away. I will update my pick to win as The Wind Rises, because this is Miyazaki’s final film and I think he’ll get many voters on his side for a triumphant close to a triumphant career. Blue is the Warmest Color moves into the dark horse spot.

 

Television

Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 4.33.00 AM

Behind the Candelabra and House of Cards received four nominations each

Best Series – Drama

  • Breaking Bad
  • Downton Abbey
  • The Good Wife
  • House of Cards
  • Masters of Sex

Comments: Breaking Bad should bring home some hardware on it’s victory lap of it’s final season, and this category is no exception. Look out for House of Cards to sneak up and try to snatch the award from the hands of Vince Gilligan.

 

Best Series – Comedy or Musical

  • The Big Bang Theory
  • Brooklyn Nine-Nine
  • Girls
  • Modern Family
  • Parks and Recreation

Comments: First off, I’m so impressed that Brooklyn Nine-Nine got nominations for Best Series and Best Actor. Amazing job by Andy Samberg and Co. and a heartfelt congratulations to them. That being said, I don’t think they’ll win this category. Even though Girls shocked the world last year, I think Modern Family will reclaim their territory this go-round. Dark horse goes to The Big Bang Theory.

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Drama

  • Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
  • James Spader, The Blacklist
  • Kevin Spacey, House of Cards
  • Liev Schreiber, Ray Donovan
  • Michael Sheen, Masters of Sex

Comments: Good for James Spader for getting a nomination in the first year of his new show, but I think this is Cranston’s to lose. If he doesn’t win, it’ll be Kevin Spacey, but more likely than not, Walter White will take it home.

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Comedy or Musical

  • Andy Samberg, Brooklyn Nine-Nine
  • Don Cheadle, House of Lies
  • Jason Bateman, Arrested Development
  • Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory
  • Michael J. Fox, The Michael J. Fox Show

Comments: I will jump for joy if Andy Samberg wins. I won’t ever stop jumping. I promise. Just give it to him. Come on. It’s Andy freakin’ Samberg. Please HFPA. Don’t make me beg. ‘Cause I’ll do it. Tip to win: Jim Parsons, Dark Horse: Don Cheadle.

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series – Drama

  • Kerry Washington, Scandal
  • Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
  • Robin Wright, House of Cards
  • Taylor Schilling, Orange is the New Black
  • Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black

Comments: I think this is Kerry Washington’s year. I will make the call that she will win this category, but put down Taylor Schilling as my dark horse.

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series – Comedy or Musical

  • Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation
  • Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep
  • Lena Dunham, Girls
  • Zooey Deschanel, New Girl

Comments: Another very close category, with many good options to choose from. I’m gonna go with Julia Louis-Dreyfus because of how much critical acclaim she and her show Veep are receiving, but I’ll slot in last year’s victor, Lena Dunham as my dark horse.

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Al Pacino, Phil Spector
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor, Dancing on the Edge
  • Idris Elba, Luther
  • Matt Damon, Behind the Candelabra
  • Michael Douglas, Behind the Candelabra

Comments: I was fairly certain Michael Douglas had this category in the bag, until I realized I completely forgot about Idris Elba. Those are the two to follow in this category. I’ll give my tip to win to Douglas, with my dark horse going to Elba.

 

Best Performance by an Actress in A Mini-series or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Elisabeth Moss, Top of the Lake
  • Helen Mirren, Phil Spector
  • Helena Bonham Carter, Burton and Taylor
  • Jessica Lange, American Horror Story: Coven
  • Rebecca Ferguson, The White Queen

Comments: Hmmmmm… Me thinks it’s going to be close between Mirren and Lange… and I’ll give Mirren the slight advantage and leave Lange as my dark horse.

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Aaron Paul, Breaking Bad
  • Corey Stoll, House of Cards
  • Jon Voight, Ray Donovan
  • Josh Charles, The Good Wife
  • Rob Lowe, Behind the Candelabra

Comments: [In my head] *Please be Aaron Paul, please be Aaron Paul, please be Aaron Paul.* Tip to win: Aaron Paul, Dark Horse: Jon Voight.

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Hayden Panettiere, Nashville
  • Jacqueline Bisset, Dancing on the Edge
  • Janet McTeer, The White Queen
  • Monica Potter, Parenthood
  • Sofia Vergara, Modern Family

Comments: Just one of those Modern Family categories. Sofia Vergara will have her hands full on the way home from the Globes, should Janet McTeer not ruin her night.

 

Best Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

  •  American Horror Story: Coven
  • Behind the Candelabra
  • Dancing on the Edge
  • Top of the Lake
  • The White Queen

Comments: Behind the Candelabra, my tip to win, is an early favorite but my dark horse pick American Horror Story: Coven is right there with it. I’m going into the show anticipating an upset by AHS.

 

 

Well, there you have it. Congratulations if you made it to the end of the article. Damn, that’s a lot of reading. Make sure to like the article on WordPress, and comment below with your picks, opinions, and such!

2 comments

  1. I still would say look out for Dench getting the Globe for Best Actress. A lot of the acclaim for Philomena that it got it the Best Picture nom. is due to her commanding performance. It’ll probably come down to her and the institution that is Meryl Streep. June Squibb is also one to look out for in the Supporting Actress category. Voters love themselves the oldies.

    1. I would definitely agree that across the board, Philomena could surprise in the categories it’s in, and in terms of June Squibb, I just think her category is too crowded for her to win it, despite her amazing performance.

Leave a Reply

